Australia Council Board Appointments Announced

Chair Rupert Myer announced the new board members of the Australia Council Board:

  • Sam Walsh AO, former CEO of the Rio Tinto Group, former Chair of the Chamber of Arts and Culture Western Australia, Black Swan State Theatre Company and the Western Australian Chapter of the Australia Business Arts Foundation. He is currently a Trustee of the Royal Opera House Covent Garden Foundation;
  • Kate Fielding,  Chair of Regional Arts Australia and the Goldfields-Esperance Development Commission;
  • Zoe McKenzie, Trade and Foreign Investment specialist;
  • Leigh Carmichael, Creative Director and Brand and Marketing Director for the Museum of Old and New Art and the Dark Mofo festival in Tasmania.

They will replace the outgoing members: Robyn Archer AO, Samantha Mostyn, Waleed Aly and Tim Orton.  Current Board member Lee-Ann Buckskin will take up the Deputy Chair role until 2019 and current members Adrian Collette AM, Sophie Mitchell, and Khoa Do have been reappointed until 2018.