New Heads of Animation and Documentary at AFTRS

AFTRS has appointed two new heads of department of Animation and Documentary. 

Former Learning and Development  Manager at Animal Logic, Krista Jordan will take up the position of Head of Animation. With over twenty years professional industry experience Krista’s credits include: The Matrix, The Matrix Reloaded, Rabbit- Proof Fence, Moulin Rouge and the Academy Award-winning Happy Feet.

The new Head of Documentary is Richard Welch, formerly Co-Director of the Antenna Documentary Film Festival, who has been running the AFTRS Graduate Certificate in Documentary for the past three years. Richard has extensive contacts in the industry and his latest film, Tea for Two, premiered at the 2018 Revelation International Film Festival recently.

Russel Howcroft appointed as AFTRS Council Chair

Minister Mitch Fifield has announced Russel Howcroft as the new Chair of the Australian Film, Television and Radio School ( AFTRS) Council.  While perhaps more popularly known for his regular appearances on the ABC’s The Gruen Transfer, Mr Howcroft has had an extensive career in the screen industry including with the Australian Film Institute and the Screen Forever Advisory Board.  He was the founding Chair of Think TV a collaboration between Australian Television broadcasters to promote the benefits of television for advertisers, and is currently Chief Creative Officer at PwC Australia.  He commences his 3 year term with AFTRS in July.

Source: 1

19 new faces at AFTRS

There will be a whole new set of faces in the staff meeting rooms at the Australia Film, Television and Radio School with the appointment of 19 new academic staff in 2017. 

This includes new heads of arts disciplines:

Kim Batterham (Cinematography); Rowan Woods (Directing); Rachel Landers (Documentary); Roland Gallois (Editing); Catherine Gleeson (Interactive); Peter Herbert (Producing and Screen Business); Igor Nay (Production Design); Matthew Campora (Screen Studies); Pieter Aquilia (Screenwriting); Stephen Murphy (Sound); Susan Danta (VFX and Animation) and Fyona Smith (Radio).

Joining the new disciplinary leadership are lecturers: Duncan McLean (screen studies); Robert Klenner (directing); Stephen Davis (screenwriting); Phillippa Harvey (editing); Simeon Bryant (cinematography); Marian Macgowan (producing) and Helen Grimley (music)

The new senior staffing appointments support the recently announced Future Vision 2021 strategic plan which aims to build outreach, talent, development, industry training, research and inclusion to position the school as ‘the leading centre for innovation for screen sound and story making globally’.  The plan responds to a comprehensive industry consultation with over 500 Australian industry experts and companies who identified the current and future skills gaps and training priorities as: running a business; new technologies; ready made new entrants and high calibre screen and broadcast talent. The full strategic plan is available at:

Thanks to Martin Brown and Undine Marshfield at AFTRS for their input