Business as usual

More than ten years of ERA (Excellence of Research in Australia) data gives a clear picture of the trajectory of creative arts research in academe … from 2006 to 2013, the total number of research outputs in field of research (FoR) 19 Creative Arts and Writing increased by 36%. This makes the 14% increase for the period 2011 to 2016 look far less like a cause for optimism, especially considering the national average discipline growth of 17%. The full-time equivalent number of staff producing research outputs in FoR19 … has shown a marginal increase of 4%. This ends the good news, such as it is.

Read More

ERA 2018 REC members announced for Humanities and Creative Arts

The Australian Research Council has announced the members of the Research Evaluation Committee for the next round of ERA:

  • Professor Han Baltussen, The University of Adelaide (Classics & ancient history)
  • Professor Susan Broomhall, The University of Western Australia (history)
  • Associate Professor Maryrose Casey, Monash University (performance studies, cultural history and ethnography)
  • Professor Hilary Charlesworth, The University of Melbourne (law)
  • Professor Catharine Coleborne, The University of Newcastle (history)
  • Professor Stephen Crain, Macquarie University (linguistics)
  • Professor David Cross, Deakin University (visual arts)
  • Professor Richard De Dear, The University of Sydney (design)
  • Professor Susan Forde, Griffith University (media)
  • Professor Ross Grantham, The University of Queensland (law)
  • Professor Helena Grehan, Murdoch University (performance research)
  • Distinguished Professor Larissa Hjorth, RMIT University (digital media)
  • Professor Ralph Horne, RMIT University (design)
  • Professor Susan Martin, La Trobe University (literature)
  • Professor Jennifer McMahon, The University of Adelaide (philosophy)
  • Professor Martina Möllering, Macquarie University (linguistics)
  • Associate Professor Gregory Nolan, University of Tasmania (architecture)
  • Professor John Powers, Deakin University (philosophy)
  • Professor Benjamin Richardson, University of Tasmania (law)
  • Professor Benjamin Smith, University of Western Australia (rock art)
  • Professor Sean Ulm, James Cook University (archaeology)
  • Distinguished Professor Jennifer Webb, University of Canberra (creative practice).

Never mind the Research Statement: read the lyrics

The sleeve notes for a 12 inch vinyl record – or the ‘liner’ as it’s known in the US – comprise on average 700 words ... thrice that of the ‘textual descriptor’ – the Research Statement - which is all that’s allowed when describing the content of a non-traditional research output [the INTRO] for the forthcoming research assessment exercise...

Read More

NTRO: A Model for Change

The decision by the Australia Research Council (ARC) to achieve the long-mooted merging of the Higher Education Research Data Collection (HERDC) and the Excellence in Research for Australia (ERA) exercise by adeptly disappearing the HERDC has been welcomed by many discipline leaders, and not just those in the creative arts. With the inclusive ERA becoming the singular evaluation of research quality across Australia, there couldn’t be a better time to rethink the classification of research in universities.

Read More